Recovering data from WD laptop hard drive

Got a data recovery situation and have a question? This is where to ask.
Mike C5

Recovering data from WD laptop hard drive

Post by Mike C5 »

I'm new to this and am not sure where to begin. I have an old HP laptop, Windows 10 (at least 10 years) that recently gave me warning that hard drive failure was imminent, do a back up asap. The machine would not fully boot, etc. I re-started and got into emergency back up mode and managed to get through writing a list of files to be backed up but only partially through creating those files before an error message halted progress. This seemed to get worse with additional attempts and I was never able to complete the file creation phase.

I finally removed the drive from the laptop and plugged it into my desktop machine (running Windows 7) as a secondary drive and am able to view the contents. It's labeled as a 'Recovery' drive and contains folders such as "recovery", "RM_Reserve", "hp", "preload", "System Volume Information", "$RECYCLE.BIN", "boot". The recovery folder has a log file with date (2020-12-1), a "WindowsRE" folder, and "System32" folder. These last two can't be opened (access denied message). There's also _CNBRP.FLG file, HPRP.log, Desktop.ini , lang.ini and Typelist.txt.

Does it sound like anything of value in terms of documents, photos, etc. might have been saved? Any ideas on where/how to extract them?
pclab
Official Data Recovery Lab Representative

Re: Recovering data from WD laptop hard drive

Post by pclab »

What you are seeing is the Recovery Partition (in case you wanted to restore your system to factory defaults).
The user data is not there.
Another partition should be there. If you can't see it, use a recovery software. I also highly recommend you to image the drive and work on that image.
lcoughey
Site Admin

Post by lcoughey »