Noticed file damage after copying files to another drive

Got a data recovery situation and have a question? This is where to ask.
tomato soup

Noticed file damage after copying files to another drive

Post by tomato soup »

Hello,

I've a very specific problem and I am interested if there is still any hope to recover 3 specific files (I don't think so, but I'm not a pro in the data recovery field).

Problem:
I copied some data to a usb stick and after a few weeks to a hard drive. Afterwards I formatted the partition of the usb stick from NTFS to exFAT. At some point I realised that 3 of the copied files (archives) are damaged. (At this point I recalled that I ran chkdsk on the usb stick once because there were some errors)

Recovery Attempts
  • First, I used 'recuva' to search for the files on the usb stick, but nothing could be found.
  • Afterwards I tried 'recoverit' and 2 of the 5 archives could be found in the same folder structure. I also searched in the found.00X folders and in RAW files. Nothing.
  • Then I used 'MiniTool Power Data Recovery' and all 5 archives could be found. However, the file size of the 3 archives is 0 byte. Searched again in the found.00X folder but all files have either 0 byte or are way too small for the 3 archives.
  • As I still didn’t want to give up I used another program called ‘R-Studio’ and again all 5 archives were found but Recovery Chances for three archives are marked black “Zero-sized”.

I checked these 3 files in more detail and found out following:
    File name, file extension, created/modified/accessed date is still displayed. In the ‘Hex View/Edit’ the Sector size has a value of 512, but no data in Offset (Sector, Position in sector).

(Note: the searching in the found.00X/Raw files has been done by [creation/...] date/file size/file extension/name)