Introduction

A place to discuss pretty much anything related to storage, computers, data recovery or technology.
Capslock

Introduction

Post by Capslock »

Greetings from Cyprus.

I'm retired and currently aboard our sailing vessel sitting tight in the eastern Mediterranean for the winter.

I'm by no means anything more than a novice computer user but it does seem that I run into a few 'situations' here and there that I can be of assistance with. To that end I do pack along a few external drive adapters and a couple of software packages for data recovery.

For the most part, things work and since I'm not an expert I don't even try to dig into anything that would resemble a serious data recovery effort. Still, it's nice when I run into (figuratively) another sailor who has a computer problem I can help with (and it's a good feeling when data reappears!)

So, when I ran into today's particular problem I started seeking out a place where I might get better educated or seek some real expertise to bounce around.

I hope it's ok to just land here and seek advice; I don't think, after reading the posts here, that I will have much to contribute because of my 'level'.

So, if it IS an ok thing to start chasing down a problem I'll spill the story but if it isn't cool (after all, I see this as a "pro-to-pro" board) then I'll gladly wave off with best wishes for everyone.

Thanks for adding me to the board!

Best wishes,

Gary W
s/v Adagio
Larnaca, Cyprus
lcoughey
Site Admin

Re: Introduction

Post by lcoughey »

Welcome to the forum. Feel free to ask away.
Capslock

Post by Capslock »

Well .. first off, thanks for the welcome :)

Next, I just downloaded and used R-Undelete successfully where another recovery program, which I had a lot of respect for, had failed to do so.